Sacraments and Religious Education

Anyone wishing information about receiving the sacraments or about religious education, please call the parish office at 616.459.7390.

Many of us remember the definition of a sacrament that reminds us that sacraments “are outward signs of inward grace, instituted by Christ for our sanctification.” They are actions of the Holy Spirit at work in Christ’s Body, the Church. The Church has discerned over the centuries that among liturgical celebrations, there are seven sacraments that are, in the strict sense of the term, sacraments instituted by the Lord.

The Sacraments of Initiation:   Baptism | Confirmation | Eucharist
The Sacraments of Healing:     Reconciliation | Anointing of the Sick
The Sacraments of Vocation:   Holy Orders | Matrimony

The Seven Sacraments of the Church

(Videos of the US Conference of Catholic Bishops)

First Communion Photos

First Communion photos at St. Mary’s (1930’s and 2008)
Source – St. Mary’s archives

Sacraments and Sacramentals (US Conference of Catholic Bishops)